Lil’wat Nation would like to congratulate all those who attended the 2nd Annual Wellness Gathering at the Cottonwood Community Centre on October 20th.  Students from Pemberton Secondary and Xit’olacw Community School listened intently to an inspirational talk by Kevin Brooks, who talked about the importance of appreciating the little things, like the ability to ‘wiggle your toes’.  Following the talk, the Winds of Change Committee honoured outstanding community members who promote healthy living, and demonstrate leadership and responsibility in their respective communities.  

Below are the nominees, with award recipients in bold:  

 North Wind: Promoting Healthy Lifestyle Choices

  • Tamara Beaton & Clare Hanbury 
  • Dr. Hugh Fisher
  • Dr. Shannon Paul

Mount Currie/N’Quatqua

  • Clara John & Barry Dan
  • Clara Edwards
  • Annette Thevarge
  • Connie Wilson
  • Casey Gabriel
  • Maisie Mernett
  • Hyatt Wallace
  • Ernie Jim Pala7tena
  • Mason Ducharme
  • Kyle Peters


  • Anita Samuels
  • Delores Los

South Wind: Increasing Awareness 

  • Pemberton Public Library – Shannon Ellis

East Wind: Improving Services 
Organization/Volunteer Group

  • Slow Food Cycle
  • Southern Stl’atl’lmx Health Society

West Wind: Community Leadership and Responsibility 
Community Group (business, organization, government)

  • Squamish Lil’wat Cultural Centre
  • Pemberton Young Life – Dave & Tessa Treadway
  • Xit’olacw Community School – Verna Stager & Jeanette Green 


  • Henry McDermott:
  • James Linklater
  • Sharon Edmonds
  • Cindy Filipenko

Winds of Change Award Winners

We’d like to thank the Village of Pemberton and the SLRD, our partners in the Winds of Change initiative, along with all the incredible people who work so hard for our communities.  For more information on the Winds of Change Committee and the Wellness Gathering, please visit